I’ll Love You Tomorrow… It’s only a day away…..

We had a week of making memories! Our son and daughter-in-law came for a visit.  We are each unique in personality, likes and dislikes; designed by God.  When we are together it is a wonderful blend making for some terrific memories.  My heart was longing for more, more memory making, as we drove them to the airport for their return home; which seemed planets away.  Five years between visits. Sad we allowed so much time to pass. Why?  Was it finances, busy lives, hassel of getting a sitter for our “cat child” or finding people to step-in to fulfill our duties at church?  What about priority… does that enter into the equation? Should it enter in to the equation?  Are my children no longer a priority simply because they’re adults leading their own busy lives?  Do our responsibilities, “our doing”, take precedent over relationships?  There’s always tomorrow… right? It comes down to priorities, planning, and doing a daily reality check which says, “tomorrow is not a guarantee“; only this moment right here, right now, is what we truly possess.

In a previous blog I shared my desire to leave a legacy.  Not a legacy of accomplishments; a legacy of love built on relationship, memories, the gift of time shared with others. A legacy built on Christ and what His love means to the world. It is time this gal’s priorities righted themselves to their proper order. I would love to see my children every day – distance makes that impossible.  There are things I can do to stay in touch daily and create memories in spite of the distance.  Living each day as if I posses endless tomorrows will not bring the desired result. Relationships, both with family and friends, must be a moment-by-moment priority.

What about my relationship with God, with Jesus? Sadly, I treat Him much the same way.  In this relationship I put distance between us, unintentionally of course, still it happens. I live my life as if I will always have tomorrow. Yet, I know my tomorrows will not last forever. If change is going to happen, it must start with me. I can no longer say, “I will read my Bible tomorrow”, “I will pray for ____ tomorrow”, or I will do ___ tomorrow.

A brand new Year is just around the corner. Will this be the year I leave room for building memories with family, with friends, and those I will meet along the way? Will this be the year I don’t miss one moment spent with God.  Will this be the year I live and lead life intentionally, with forethought and purpose?

Until next time,
Sandra

 “Therefore keep watch, because you do not know on what day your Lord will come.  But understand this: If the owner of the house had known at what time of night the thief was coming, he would have kept watch and would not have let his house be broken into. So you also must be ready, because the Son of Man will come at an hour when you do not expect him. Matthew 24:42-44

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

2 thoughts on “I’ll Love You Tomorrow… It’s only a day away…..”

  1. Amen my sister in Christ. We are all guilty in some way with the things you have mentioned. I know for sure I am. I have a son living a half hour away and do I see them often. NO!!!! I need to heed the words you have listed in this post and God willing I will. I love him and his family very much.
    Love,
    Jack.

    Like

    1. Jack,
      Let me encourage you to put it on your calendar as a reminder each month. Otherwise life happens and the time we intended to spend simply slips away. May 2013 be the year of family and relationships for both of us. Hugs my friend. Thanks for sharing. It is truly an encouragement to me to keep on posting and writing when I get feedback; so thank you for your encouragement!

      Like

Comments appreciated and welcomed

