God’s Simple but Powerful Provision – What a Blessing!

Hello friends,

It has been awhile, but I am back 🙂 Sometimes my walk with God is going well and other times I wonder. But, no matter what I may think, I know that God is always in the midst as promised. It is usually me who is not where I belong. Today, I would like to share with you about God’s provision.

A little over 2 years ago I felt God nudging me to quit my current job and offer to volunteer at the church I attend, full time. Did you catch the word, volunteer? Of course I jumped at the chance… NOT! After all… quit a good paying job to volunteer, why that is slightly crazy don’t you think? I played with the idea briefly and quickly dismissed it. Every now and then the thought would resurrect itself. Still, I didn’t say yes. Then one day, during my morning devotions, I was reading in the Old Testament. It was as if God’s Holy Spirit whacked me alongside the head. “Sandra, are you going to be like the disobedient Israelites who found themselves wandering in the desert for 40 years? Or will you be obedient to what I am calling you too?” I had no desire to wander the rest of my life. That very morning I rendered my resignation. I loved my job. It was probably the best job I ever had. I loved my boss and all the people I worked with. To leave them was difficult! Don’t think for a moment that finances were not a concern in the equation. We were going to be losing one whole income; we still had a mortgage and bills to pay. On paper my quitting put us in the red each month… this was crazy. No, this was much more about God and His calling on our lives. I knew it was the right thing to do no matter what the paper showed.

I am now a year and half down the road and God has been faithful. But it has not been without some challenges. One day I began to whine, just a little, okay maybe not so little. “God, I followed your leading, but I didn’t realize all that it would entail. We have virtually no savings now and the cost of living just keeps rising. We are on a fixed income God, which means no raises, ever. Gas is rising, our house needs some repairs, utility costs are rising, groceries have skyrocketed” – “God our garden fountains aren’t working and you know how much I enjoy them”, etc., etc., etc. Here I was, being a little Israelite out in the desert, unhappy about God’s direction in my life and whining about it. God, I said, “I am not sorry I gave up my job; I know it was what you called me too, and I would do it again, in a heartbeat”. In graciousness, God gently said, “If that is the case, then why are you whining my child”?

God had done his part all along; it was I/we (hubby) who had not. We kept living as if we still had that income. It was time for a change. We sat down and made a budget. On our limited income there isn’t much room for frills or extras. We know with God in the midst we have nothing to fear. God is a wonderful provider, yet we have a part in this arrangement; that is to be good stewards of what He has given us. God is not a vending machine. As we have honored our commitment and made adjustments in our lifestyle, God has surprised us with little blessings along the way; blessings such as a man paying for our breakfast one morning; a total stranger in the drive through line at Jack-n-the-Box. It was just a few dollars, but that morning we were blessed by the kindness of a stranger. His kindness meant we could buy breakfast one more time that week. The gift of a book from a friend; little did she know it was a book I had wanted for some time. Receiving an unexpected check in the mail and just today finding out that our Costco account, for some unknown reason, had been extended until April; a savings of 4 months. A family friend shared with me her family wanted to share in our budget. Share in our budget? How does one share in another’s budget? When they cook for their family they will prepare 2 extra portions and freeze them. Each month they will bring us a few freezer meals to help stretch our budget along the way!

We are far from destitute! By the world’s standards we are rich beyond belief. Our finances are not the focus of this blog. The focus is all about God’s provision. It is about God’s faithfulness. It is about God’s love for His children. It’s about the little ways that God reassures. It is about the tons of ways, He spoils His children with little unexpected gifts. In the past I would not have seen these as God, I would have simply seen them as the nice little gestures. I suspect God has been providing in small unique ways all along. Sadly, I simply have not noticed. Today, I know different – today I am seeing because I am looking. We often hear of the big ways, the miraculous ways, God comes through, but what I want you to see is God in the little every day things! We simply need to look for them.

Until next time,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

