A Heart Yearns for Healing

One day, not to long after experiencing the injury to my back, I found myself in my kitchen struggling to fix breakfast. My husband had left for church and no longer at home. Since the injury, before leaving the house, he would get down any items I would need which were unreachable from my wheelchair. Only this day, we had forgotten. Sitting in my wheelchair I spied the plate needed resting on the bottom shelf of the cupboard above me. A shelf I could reach with ease only a week before.

In my frustration I remembered the miraculous healings recorded in the Bible. My heart yearning to be healed to have my body free from the confinement of a wheelchair and the accompanying pain. Out of nowhere came a thought like a lightning flash; the thought took root quickly. Before I could react the thought became an audible statement. “Lord, I’ve done many things wrong: my sins….well you know, God – shameful things, things which bring guilt and yes even ugliness; it’s all there.” “Why would you want to heal me?” “I certainly don’t deserve your healing touch.” The answer came as quickly as the thought had taken form and the words spoken. “Because you’re my daughter and I love you.” Good news! Then, “Lord, since I am loved, why won’t you bring healing to my body?” The answer came a little slower, yet reassuringly, “I am bringing healing to your body; there is still more for you to glean and learn.”

was able to get the plate off the shelf, and I did get breakfast. This particular morning I had soul fed as well as my body.

Be Encouraged,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

