Wailing and Complaining

Today, while reading in the book of Numbers, I was struck by the Israelites – God’s chosen people. They had been in captivity in Egypt for over 400 years. God rescued them from the harsh hands of Pharaoh and was leading them into the land, He had promised Abraham and his descendants; the Promised Land. Since receiving their freedom, the Israelite’s had seen miracle after miracle at the hand of God as He fought for and provided for them. (If you are not familiar with the Bible, you may be familiar with the Hollywood version of this journey, The 10 Commandments). It didn’t take long before the Israelite’s had a lapse in memory. In this chapter we see them grieving and mourning, literally wailing, for what they had in Egypt as if to say, “God, the Egyptian’s provided much better before you took over.” OUCH! How quickly the struggles and hardships they faced had been forgotten. The lack of care and provision, the cruelty with which Pharaoh treated them now a dim memory. A little trial or two and they were willing to leave all they had gained for a moment’s pleasure. How quickly they were willing to give it all up. Yet, they were just moments away from entering the land flowing with milk and honey-the Promised Land!

I never ever wish to again experience the kind of injury and pain which put me in this chair-ever! When I’m walking once again, completely healed from my injury, I don’t want to forget the valuable lessons learned. I am learning a lot from my wheelchair about me and the world around me. I see the world from a different perspective, literally. The difficulties of getting around and the treatment by others of the physically challenged has been revealing. I’m gaining a deeper level of compassion and understanding for others in similar circumstances. I’m discovering a lot about my character, as well as my level of faith and trust in God; which needs tweaking.

The things I’m learning and the Spiritual growth that is taking place just might be worth it. I say might because I am still in the learning process. I see the good, but I, like the Israelites, am still in the desert; the Promised Land of healing is still ahead of me. Every day as I keep my focus on God-my Jehovah Rapha (healer) and my Jehovah-Jireh (provider)-I take one step closer (literally) towards my ability to walk once again, and one step closer to God’s Promise Land of healing.

Until next time,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

