Dream Puzzle Phenomenon

Why do demons seem to come out in the middle of the night? Last night, in my dreams, I think every fear, every bad situation, everything I’ve ever wrestled with came to visit me. Okay, not all of them, as then I would have to call it a nightmare. Enough yucky stuff sneaked into my pleasant dreams, so much so, I woke up wondering what the heck? In Bible times, and often for me today, God spoke to His children through dreams or visions. In Old Testament times God gifted people with the ability to interpret dreams. Daniel was such a person. I could use a Daniel today.

Last night was a jumble of stuff coming fast and furious. I woke up often and then returning to sleep would find myself right back where I left off.  This went on all night long. Could my conscience simply be trying to make sense of everything which has happened recently? Did the devil and his pals have an enormous sense of warped fun with me? Is God helping me see my life as a jumbled mess with character refining still to be done? Or might it be something entirely different?

I call it the puzzle phenomenon. We start to solve a puzzle by first dumping all the pieces out of their box for better visual acuity; One-by-one we take each piece and place it in its proper position. I love puzzles and I love mysteries; not so much when I am the puzzle or the mystery. I wonder if I were to ask God, if He would send me Daniel for a quick interpretation? Oh well, it was a thought.

Since accepting Jesus as my personal Lord and Savior in October of 1972, I have made messes of lots of things. Quite a bit of character refining has taken place as a result. Some changes brought about as I spend time reading and studying God’s Word. Deeper growth and change occur as I experience the good, the bad and the ugly in life. God, always faithful, gets me through. When I surrender my life to His leading, He uses life’s circumstances, good and bad, to develop more Christ like character within. For sure, I am not the same person I was 38 years ago – I have not arrived to all I will be either!

I read somewhere when God is about to use you in a more purposeful way, often trials of varying degrees of discomfort come your way. These trials are not caused to bring you harm, but to refine; much like a refiners fire refines gold. When we have a period of life, much like I am now experiencing, perhaps God has turned up the heat a little.  Perhaps the process of removing impurities and refining character is taking place. Perhaps God is preparing me for more!

I can’t say for certainty what my jumble of dreaming was about. The one thing I am sure of – God is working out the kinks, in my life, to His glory.

2nd Corinthians 4:17-18 “For this slight momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, because we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen…”

Until next time,
be encouraged

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

Comments appreciated and welcomed

