Why Me, Lord?

I had no idea I would start my writing/blogging career from a wheel chair. Let me share the events of these past few weeks. It is a beautiful sunny Sunday morning.  Hubby and I hurrying to get out the door and begin our ½ hour drive to church. As we grab our Bibles and rush towards the car, I remember the cat!  I dash back into the house to place cat food in the bowl.  I see Sugar, our cat, sitting by her bowl with a sly twinkle in her eyes; as if to say, “Ya almost forgot, huh?” Paying more attention to the cat than to what I’m doing, I bend in an awkward position and …  Oops something sort of snapped; a disc in my lumbar region rebelled.  I was in pain. Over the course of the next 24 hours 2 more discs collapsed; one on top of the other; ouch!!! I found myself unable to stand-up straight or walk; the pain excruciating. When I did stand I was in the shape of a 7; bent at the waist. No pain relief came for days. Eventually pain relief, through the administration of meds and physical therapy, did come; sometimes only for moments, then an hour or more and now today, if I don’t push it, I am fairly pain free.

God is using the events of these past few weeks to teach me about our world, others, and me. Being in a wheelchair has provided me a perspective I would never have had without the injury.  I have learned, or better yet, been reminded, how quickly life can change. You are walking, living life and doing fine when in an instant, one simple routine daily task turns into something not so routine or ordinary; life is instantly different.

I think most everyone asks the question, “Why me?” I know I have. Times past, I felt God must not love me or He wouldn’t have let “whatever” happen. Times past, I felt I didn’t deserve whatever happened as if somehow I’m above it all. Times past, sad to say, I played the “woe is me card”.  This time I didn’t ask the “Why me” question. Well maybe briefly, but I didn’t stay there. My questions have been “Why am I here in this situation at this time?” “What or who has brought me to this place in life?” What would God have me learn? How may I make a difference in the life of another as a result of my experience?

Often there are no answers to the “whys” in our lives; knowing this could be really frustrating if it were not for the next question, “Lord, what do you wish to teach me through this?” Everything happens in my life for a reason; just as it does in yours. Sometimes we get to know the reason and other times not. No matter the circumstance or situation there is always something which can be learned; we must trust God in the midst of it all.

I am trusting in the One who knows my pain.  I am trusting in the One who knows me best.  I have no doubt my wheelchair days will end. I have no doubt I will be up and walking.  Until then I do not wish to miss one teachable moment of this journey.

Until next time,
Sandra

Author: Sandra

I became a writer in my later years. I love blogging and sharing life with others. I speak to women's groups about the Christian life.

One thought on “Why Me, Lord?”

Comments appreciated and welcomed

